P. C. Alexander

Dr. P. C. Alexander

  • 1999
  • Chief Guest
One of the most distinguished and respected public servants of the post-Independence era because of the high standards of efficiency and integrity he had maintained throughout his career. Took his post-graduate degree in History and Economics from the Travancore University and Master of Literature and Doctor of Literature degrees by research from the Annamalai University before joining the Indian Administrative Service (IAS 1948). Has held several high positions in public life both at .... Read More
Narayan Desai

Mr. Narayan Desai

  • 1999
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Constructive Work
Has devoted entire life in the constructive movement working for the welfare of the poor. Was an active participant in the Quit India Movement. Assisted his father Shri Mahadev Desai who was Gandhiji's Secretary in constructive activities and, later, Vinobaji in all activities associated with the Bhoodan Movement. Was a participant in the Students' Shanti Sainik Sena Movement started by Jayaprakash Narayan throughout the country. Is the founder of the Sampoorna Kranti Vidyalaya, Surat .... Read More
Ajoy Kumar Basu

Dr. Ajoy Kumar Basu

  • 1999
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Application of Science and Technology for Rural Development
Bachelor of Science (Hons); Master of Technology; Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D), Fellowship of the Institution of Engineers Has spent a major part of his life in Technology Planning, Modulation and Transfer of Technology for villagers, focusing on the tribals of South Bihar, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh and Orissa. Developed the concept of training and research in Appropriate Technology in the Birla Institute of Technology and Warwick University, United Kingdom. Was invited by Prince .... Read More
Saraswathi Gora

Ms. Saraswathi Gora

  • 1999
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Development & Welfare of Women And Children
Participated in the Quit India Movement. Suffered imprisonment. Has been a social- change worker on Gandhian lines. Co-founder of Atheist Centre (1940). Has been in the forefront for the eradication of untouchability and the caste system. Guided the Atheist Centre for a broad spectrum of activities through its three major organisations – Vasvaya Mahila Mandal, Arthik Samata Mandal and Samskar – for comprehensive rural development in more than three hundred villages in various dist .... Read More
Joseph Rotblat

Prof. Sir Joseph Rotblat

  • 1999
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Promoting Gandhian Values Outside India
Master of Arts, Doctor of Science (Warsaw), Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) (Liverpool), Doctor of Science (London) Is Emeritus Professor of Physics in the University of London, at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital Medical College. Has made significant contribution in the fields of Nuclear Physics, Medical Physics and Radiation Biology. Is known for his total commitment and life long dedication to the cause of peace, prevention of armed conflicts, and persistent endeavours to arouse the conscie .... Read More