Norman Ernest Borlaug

Dr. Norman Ernest Borlaug

  • 1983
  • Chief Guest
(March 25, 1914) Born on a farm near Cresco, Iowa. Studied forestry and later plant pathology in the University of Minnesota . A microbiologist with the du Pont de Nemours Foundation; in charge of research on industrial and agricultural bactericides, fungicides, and preservatives. Was involved in scientific research in genetics, plant breeding, plant pathology, entomology, agronomy, soil science, and cereal technology. As a central figure in the "green revolution". Has col .... Read More
Tagadur Ramachandra Rao

Mr. Tagadur Ramachandra Rao

  • 1983
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Constructive Work
Born in 1898. A freedom fighter. Founded the Swarajya Mandir and Satyagraha Ashram at Tagadur village in Mysore District in 1921 and devoted himself to organizing Gandhiji's programme of Swadeshi, revival of Charkha, removal of untouchability, social justice and economic equality to the marginalized sections of society. Satyagraha Ashram, Tagadur Village,  Mysore District, Karnataka Read More
Manibhai Desai

Dr. Manibhai Desai

  • 1983
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Application of Science and Technology for Rural Development
Born in 1920. A freedom fighter. Under instructions of Mahatma Gandhi, he moved to the Nature Cure Ashram at Uruli Kanchan near Pune, Maharashtra. Carried out a number of innovative and pioneering projects and experiments in the fields of breeding and cross breeding of cattle, development of barren lands, better utilization of scarce water resources, application of new techniques and new seed materials in farming horticulture and fodder development. Established The Bhartiya Agro Industries Fo .... Read More
Pushpavati Mehta

Ms. Pushpavati Mehta

  • 1983
  • Jamnalal Bajaj Award for Development & Welfare of Women And Children
Born in 1905. Started as Secretary, Jyoti Sangh. Buit up a number of institutions for women and children – Vikas Griha (Ahmedabad), Vikas Vidyalaya (Wadhwan). Kanta Stree Vikas Griha (Rajkot), Pragati Griha ((Halvad), Kasturba Stree Vikas Gruha (Jamnagar), Tapibai Vikas Griha (Bhavnagar) and Shishu Mandal (Junagarh). Founded a federating body called the Gujarat Samajik Sanstha Madhyasthata Mandal.Honoured with Padma Bhushan. Vikas Griha, ‘Ashiana', P.O. Jhuhapura, A .... Read More